top of page

Sugar Free Diet?


After watching a TV show called "Sugar Free Farm" I was intrigued to see the effect sugar has on my body, and how much sugar I actually consume. So the research began on what constitutes as a 'sugar free diet'. The benefits include more energy, more focus, a flatter belly, reduce fat and loose weight, reduce calorie intake and enjoy the real taste of food. Do I include fruits? some say not, along with cashews, peanuts, corn, peas, potatoes and squash. Some allow tea and coffee, pastas, rice, others not. So it was decided I was to have no caffeine, no fruit, no pastas, breads, tinned produce.....this was going to be hard as I'm 90% vegetarian and consuming lots of meat was out of the question. There are over 30 names used instead of sugar, which I was finding out whilst rummaging through my cupboards ...

Monday morning came and there was no cup of tea to start the day, this was going to be tough! I felt 'meh', no headache, just off. Was it all in my head? Scrambled eggs without milk and toast were nice though not filling. Lunch of homemade soup without a stock cube in was bland, again no bread to mop the liquid up. I carried on as normal, running errands, meeting up with friends, but my energy was lacking, and running round after a nearly one year old was exhausting! Early to bed!

Tuesday morning I woke after a fit full nights sleep, but was raring to go. I sucked it up and was drinking a lot more ginger and lemon tea (homemade). No headache to complain about! I was consuming a lot more water than normal. I found nothing to snack on except veg and homemade humus, or nuts.

Wednesday was "Buggy Bootcamp" where I got to exercise in the park with my little one smiling away at me doing squats and lunges. I felt my energy levels weren't as high as normal, probably because I didn't have mini eggs as soon as I got in the car... By lunch time I was bored of this "diet" and decided I needed proper food in me.

So what: I lasted two and a half days...(don't judge me). I realised I don't eat that much sugar, I enjoy food: preparing it and eating it, trying new recipes out so why take away one of my pleasures? I have since cut out sugar and milk in my coffee and try for a fruit or vegetable smoothie once a day. Iv been making my own sauces for a long time, so I don't buy prepared jars.

A wise person has said to me many a time that "A little bit of what you fancy every so often won't do you any harm. Everything in moderation". Energy balls are a great way of keeping your energy levels up as I use slow release ingredients, keeping me fuller for longer without the sugar spike.


Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page